Tech Apps
2 - MIN READ

WhatsApp Users Can Now Make Messages Disappear by Default After 24 Hours, 7 Days, or 90 Days

Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced WhatsApp’s new disappearing message time limits via a Facebook post.

WhatsApp will add new functionality to its disappearing messages feature, which will allow users to set messages in a chat to automatically be deleted after a set period of time.

As announced by Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg on Facebook, WhatsApp users will now have the option to turn on disappearing messages automatically for all their new one-on-one chats, so that all future messages will be automatically deleted from the service.

We're rolling out a new disappearing messages option on WhatsApp today so you'll be able to make all new chats disappear by default after 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days. Not all messages need to stick around forever.
Mark Zuckerberg: We’re rolling out a new disappearing messages option on WhatsApp today so you’ll be able to make all new chats disappear by default after 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days. Not all messages need to stick around forever.

The Meta-owned messaging service also said it’s giving users more options for how long before a message is deleted. At the point when the feature initially launched in November last year, users just had the option of having messages disappear after seven days.

Going ahead, however, there will also be the choice of erasing them after only 24 hours or 90 days. The new functionality was previously reported as being in development.

WhatsApp has noticed that turning on disappearing messages by default won’t affect existing chats. When you start a new one-on-one chat, a notice will appear to say that the disappearing messages feature is turned on, alongside a note that says it’s on by default (so your contacts don’t think it’s anything personal). You also have the option of turning the setting off for individual chats.

Although the new default setting doesn’t affect group chats, WhatsApp said it’s added another option when creating groups to allow you to enable the disappearing messages feature.