WhatsApp currently allows you to send photos and videos that must be seen once by recipients. The new change at first began carrying out for the iPhone users through another WhatsApp version on Tuesday. However, presently, the instant messaging application announced its rollout for all users, including the ones on Android. WhatsApp has been testing the ‘View Once’ feature for some time to essentially enables photos and videos to disappear from the chat after they are viewed by the recipient. However, it doesn’t restrict people from keeping a record of the media content by simply taking their screenshots.
The expected ‘View Once’ feature at first began carrying out to WhatsApp for iPhone form 2.21.150 in India. However, Android users have now also started seeing the new experience.
When you get the ‘View Once’ include, you will actually want to enable the disappearing of the photo or video before sending it to your contacts by tapping the new ‘1′ icon that appears next to the caption bar.
Photos and videos that are being shared using the ‘View Once’ feature will at this point don’t be apparent in the chat where they were sent once the recipient exits the media viewer. The media content will also not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery, and they can’t forward them through the app. Moreover, the photo or video sent using the feature will also expire from the chat if it’s not opened within 14 days.
Having said that, recipients can in any case take a screenshot of the ‘View Once’ photos or capture these recordings by using the default screen recording features. thus, recommends users to only send photos and videos using the new feature to trusted people.
WhatsApp has been trying the feature since last September 2020 to allow users to make their photos and videos disappear from the application whenever it is seen by the recipients. It also entered the beta testing phase for both Android and iOS devices in late June. The Facebook-owned app was also brought to WhatsApp Web for some users last month.
One of the use cases of the ‘View Once’ feature that WhatsApp has highlighted in a blog post is when users are sharing something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password that they don’t want to be stored on the recipient’s phone. You can also use the feature if you are sharing photos of something you’re checking at a store to get a quick reaction from the recipient.
WhatsApp is at present rolling out the feature to everyone beginning this week. Ensure that you have the latest WhatsApp version on your phone to get the new experience.
Close by the ‘View Once’ feature, the updated WhatsApp for iPhone has also brought a new style of in-app message notifications that removes the clutter and brings more focus to the message content.